Monthly Archives: July 2011

Story ideas from real life

by Gail Z. Martin OK, so here’s the making of a fantasy story….. Once upon a time there’s a king and he’s come into possession of a magical item that has to be eliminated before it destroyed the entire kingdom.  … Continue reading

Leave a Comment

Filed under Books, Gail Z. Martin

It Might Be Hot, but It’s Still Writing

by Crymsyn Hart I attended FandomFest this past weekend in Louisville, KY. It was hot and there was little air conditioning to be had except in the hotel rooms, but even then it was breaking down here and there. However, … Continue reading

Leave a Comment

Filed under Crymsyn Hart

Relationships that Matter

By J. F. Lewis As a series progresses, it’s interesting for me to see which relationships flourish and which ones don’t. For readers of Joe Abercrombie’s First Law series (spoilers ahead) the relationship between Ferro and Logen is one that … Continue reading

Leave a Comment

Filed under J.F. Lewis

A Challenge in Writing Fantasy Short Stories

by Terry W Ervin II www.ervin-author.com http://uparoundthecorner.blogspot.com/ One thing on every writer’s mind as they are planning and writing a short story is word count. In almost every instance the shorter the work, the easier it is to find a … Continue reading

Leave a Comment

Filed under Books, Guest Blogger

Paranormally Speaking

By Tina R. McSwain The Perils of Summer Ghost Hunting With last week’s high temperatures being well above 90, and throw in the heat index of 104-110, it is quite an undertaking to investigate in the summer time.  Especially if … Continue reading

Leave a Comment

Filed under Tina R. McSwain

Cons Are In The Air

by Crymsyn Hart You place your fingers on the keys, focus on the screen, and then let the world fall away. You get lost inside of your own mind and are transported to another reality that you are in control … Continue reading

Leave a Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

The Time Traveling Vampire Goes To SDCC

“Get thee to a convention”-Gail Z. Martin “Holy crap! Somebody hide me!”-J. F. Lewis By J. F. Lewis I’ve never gotten the hang of writing a blog in advance. Maybe if writing was my day job, I’d be better at … Continue reading

Leave a Comment

Filed under J.F. Lewis

Paranormally Speaking

By Tina R. McSwain Mentoring In North Carolina, high school seniors are required to submit a paper and product as part of their Project Graduation requirements.  Many of them have chosen paranormal investigating as their subject.  I have been mentoring these … Continue reading

Leave a Comment

Filed under Tina R. McSwain

The Greatest Teacher You Never Had

By Alethea Kontis I haven’t had a lot of odd jobs in my life. Most of my jobs–like my relationships–have been long-haul kind of things. My first job was concessionist at a movie theatre when I was sixteen–by the time … Continue reading

Leave a Comment

Filed under Guest Blogger

Twitter Novels

by Crymsyn Hart This past weekend a friend and I were sipping coffee at our local Books A Million café. She pulled out her cell phone which is the same kind I have and asked me how I liked it. … Continue reading

Leave a Comment

Filed under Books, Crymsyn Hart, Gail Z. Martin, J.F. Lewis, Tina R. McSwain